LPB N(T)GD and DFV question

Fri Oct 05, 2018 3:19 pm

Greetings. I just got a deal on used (!) Lake Placid Blue Tribute Doheny. I know I'm supposed to post a pic but trust me, it looks like every other LPD Doheny. Though these haven't been out in the wild that long. I feel fortunate to have stumbled across one, in Canada no less, so no customs or taxes.

BUT, it's my first go-around with the DFV vibrato system. Any suggestions for setting it up right? He removed the whammy bar before shipping, so I just put it back in, but I'm not sure how much to tighten the screw or anything. I'm a bassist who dabbles in guitar, so there you go.

Also, there's still plastic under some of the knobs. Do I just pull them off to get the plastic out, or is there a hidden screw or something?

Thanks.

Re: LPB N(T)GD and DFV question

Fri Oct 05, 2018 7:42 pm

Congratulations :) Is there an issue with the DFV right now? If not, I'd leave it alone. You can tighten the arm tension screw to whatever your preference is between the bar staying in place or drooping after use.

You might be able to pull the plastic film off, otherwise probably best to remove the knobs and loosen the pots if you care enough about it; not sure whether Doheny knobs just pull off, or have a screw/solid shaft.
Last edited by Danley on Sat Oct 06, 2018 7:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sat Oct 06, 2018 5:31 am

Thanks Danley. I'm finding the set screw is either too tight or too loose, nothing in between. If I have it tight so the whammy bar is in place, I can't move it much before it goes loose. There's also a little give on the shaft.

Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:05 am

Perhaps the nylon bushing that sits between the arm and the screw is missing?

Sat Oct 06, 2018 10:19 am