Question about Bluesboy pickup selector

Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:10 am

Just bought a tribute semi hollow bluesboy. Noticed that the middle position on the pickup selector doesn't sound right. It sounds like it's only taking sound from the bridge pickup and not the neck. The neck pickup works on it's own though. I tried spraying the solder joints on the knobs and switch with contact cleaner, and no dice. I'm not very experienced with soldering, but I do have a soldering gun and could attempt to fix a minor issue. Anyone know what the issue might be? Thanks

Re: Question about Bluesboy pickup selector

Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:05 pm

I am not familiar with the functions of the switches on a Tribute Blues boy but what I can tell you is that spraying solder joints with contact cleaner would do nothing. It's like spraying a weld with WD40 to strengthen it. It's a solid connection. If it does do something, you have an odd problem on your hands. Perhaps if you post a few pictures of the wiring harness someone here might see a clue as to what the problem is.

Good luck,

Tom

Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:40 pm

The inexpensive import switches can definitely fail beyond repair or service with contact spray. My bet is you need a new quality switch; but check the wiring first.

Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:08 pm

Try tapping the pole pieces of the pickup, or in the case of the humbucker, the metal cover, with a screwdriver to see if you get a sound from your amp when the appropriate pickup is selected.

Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:08 pm

I tried the contact cleaner after reading a few reviews online fwiw. I tapped on the neck pickup in the middle position and there is sound coming from it so that’s promising. Gotta figure out how to post pics. Thanks for the replies

Wed Sep 26, 2018 5:49 am