S-500 with Legacy neck

Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:40 am

I've been looking for an S-500 for a while (I have a Legacy, Comanche, ASAT, and F-100, but no S-500). I've been offered one that has had the neck swapped with a Legacy, apparently just because the owner preferred rosewood over maple. Are there any things to be concerned with regarding such a swap? I'm wanting the S-500 primarily because of the the pickups and different sound. Thanks. David

Re: S-500 with Legacy neck

Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:20 am

I have no idea if that swap is a good match. I would imagine so as they are basically the same guitar, just differences in options for the most part. However, there are so many S-500's for sale out there for good prices. Some are really nice and a very good value so why mess around with potential issues that will cause problems down the road and affect value. Unless it's dirt cheap and you want to take the risk. If you want an S-500, buy an S-500.

Just my tuppence, I'm no expert.

Tom

Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:22 pm

FZTNT wrote:I have no idea if that swap is a good match. I would imagine so as they are basically the same guitar, just differences in options for the most part. However, there are so many S-500's for sale out there for good prices. Some are really nice and a very good value so why mess around with potential issues that will cause problems down the road and affect value. Unless it's dirt cheap and you want to take the risk. If you want an S-500, buy an S-500.

Tom