View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:08 am

Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
 Amp/speaker cabinet combo's for usa comanche 

Post Amp/speaker cabinet combo's for usa comanche
Hello again my g & l comrades; my first intro was about 2 months ago, exploiting the idea of buying a usa comanche as my first electric guitar. As stated then that over the years I have learned not to underbuy. With that in mind I have purchased a mint condition usa comanche semi-hollow sun burst with a white finger board.
I am now looking for the amp/combo to mate it with.
My homework is telling me to purchase (again not underbuying) a fender 68 custom twin reverb tube type. Had a hard time deciding between that and the 65 reissue twin. I love them both, decided on the 68 because of the extra channel. My only drawback is I know that while I am still learning to play at home, I will not be able to volume up into distortion.
So what do you guys think? Should I settle for half the power of the 45 watt power model and mic it in large venues or stay with the 85 watter?

Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:55 am

Post Re: Amp/speaker cabinet combo's for usa comanche
imo- 45 watts would be sufficient for most venues and styles of music.
Any pics of the guitar?

Fri Sep 08, 2017 8:06 am

If you aren't concerned about "underbuying", I would reccommend a Class A Tube Amp that also has a modern fx loop, etc. My favorite is the Rivera Venus 3 - Has reverb, distortion, tone for MILES, and brick outhouse reliable. 15 Watts Class A is more than 45 watts solid state or Class AB. You could play a everything but a stadium with this thing. And G&L's MFD pup sound divine through a Rivera.

Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:55 pm
Profile WWW

i'd get a fender deluxe reverb RI, or if you want to save some money,
a carvin nomad 1x12. The twin is too big and too heavy.

Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:47 pm

I play through a modded Fender Blues Junior (Google Bill Machrone mods). It works for me.

Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:58 pm