My new Comanche and recently new ASAT Classic S

Sat May 01, 2010 11:23 am

I recently bought an ASAT Classic S and absolutely loved it. I'd never actually loved a guitar before. They were just things I beat up until they were useless while I learned to play. The ASAT however was the first guitar where pulling it out of the case and playing it the first time I thought, "Oh, this one is different." It had such a unique sound, not quite country, not quite anything else. The neck felt natural and let my hand just relax and play. It was sensitive to my right hand, forcing me to learn to pick properly and even learn hybrid picking eventually.

Here's the pics of the ASAT off my blog I'm starting about music gear:

http://gear.fm/pics/ASAT/

However, there's one *huge* pet peeve I have about guitars: 60hz hum and EMI. Drives me insane to hear that buzzing and its annoying destruction of what is normally a great record. It just seems to grates on me, but I manage.

As I studied more G&L guitars I discovered there's that quiet beast the Comanche. Z-coils with that MFD sound I love that are absolutely quiet and a PTB system? YES! I looked around, and decided I wanted a blond one but couldn't find one at the lower end price range. Then I found one on eBay and decided to grab it and I must say I love this thing. It's got a few problems I'll be fixing up, but it's just fantastic.

Here's the pics of the Comanche:

http://gear.fm/pics/Comanche/