S-500 Frets

Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:31 pm

Hello,
This is my first post here, since I am a new G&L owner.
I have been looking at G&L's for a long time, and finally pulled the trigger last week on a white USA s-500 on ebay.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=190388415336&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT
It arrived today, and while the guitar sounds okay, the frets aren't so good. In fact, most are completely flat on top. Now, i'm new to G&L's, but the legacys and asat's that I played in music stores certainly didn't have completely flat frets. Most distressingly, the flat frets give the strings a strange sitar buzz, and the neck buzzes all over the place. It looks as though somebody tried to level the frets, and then stopped before the crowning them back into shape, although the seller assured me that the frets were level and exactly as they left the factory.

I was wondering if somebody could help me out a bit, and shed some light on this. Did I get a sour deal? Is this some sort of strange fret-finishing method that I don't know about?

I can post up-close pictures if those would help.
Thanks so muchn\,
Dave

Re: S-500 Frets

Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:33 am

Dave, I wish I had more to offer but my Legacy is the only G & L I've played. I'm sure more guys will chime in with thoughts.
The frets are certainly NOT flat on my '06 Legacy. Based on the sellers feedback and description I would have trusted him too, but it
does seem like somebody took a flat file to the frets and did not crown them. Can you get some clear close-up pics?
Might help the experts here compare with theirs and offer ideas.

Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:56 am

That sounds like a very familiar story to me. My Legacy originally arrived with flattened frets ....I've just got it back today from my local guitar tech who dressed and re-crowned them. Now they resemble the close up photo's of NEW Legacy frets on ebay!