Fiorano GTS Technical Question

Wed Dec 21, 2011 2:23 pm

Late to the game, I've discovered I have some interest in the Fiorano GTS as my second guitar (to compliment my S-500). The aesthetics are something I tolerate more than enjoy, but it ticks all the other boxes:
  1. Less than US$1,000
  2. 24 Frets
  3. Dual Humbucker
  4. Not a Schecter
  5. (Bonus) It's a G&L
However, I have recently read an article that's made me reconsider guitar design. Can any of you tell me if this holds water, and if the Fiorano GTS complies with the theory discussed?

Re: Fiorano GTS Technical Question

Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:47 pm

As a PhD physicist myself, let me stick out my neck and make some comments on said article. So sit back and relax and lets get going:
  1. It is an article published on Ed Roman's site. You should know Ed is very opinionated, and I mean VERY opinionated on certain things. He certainly seems to have a peeve with 22 fret PRS models and whenever he gets a chance to mention that, no matter the context, he will.
  2. There is nothing wrong with the physics mentioned. For any standing wave along a string with fixed end points there will be n number of nodes, where n indicates the harmonic of the note. The note produced will be the fundamental plus a number of these overtones where the contribution of the overtones to the vibrational pattern depends on many things: materials used for nut and bridge, how the vibrations transfered to the body and neck of the guitar couple back to the string, where and how you pick the string (think of the technique where you can create a more 'squeaking' note with relatively more overtones in the tone when you pick with your thumb slightly damping the string at the end of the attack), etc.