Confused by my ASAT tribute wiring -- why so many grounds?

Wed May 10, 2023 9:05 am

Ok, so I'm a newbie. Just a few months ago, I came back to playing after not touching a guitar for nearly 30 years. I'm excited to re-learn how to play. I also am enjoying learning about guitar electronics for the first time.

I bought a used (but pristine) ASAT Tribute Special. It looks to be the current model, and I have no reason to believe it's been modified.

I've been reading up on guitars, and I've gotten excited about doing some upgrades and mods on my ASAT: upgrade to US pots and caps; put in a 5-way switch; maybe even add a stacked pot with a bass tone control or drill out a control panel and add a kill switch. I thought that I was getting a grasp on guitar wiring, and then I opened my ASAT. It does not appear to correspond to any schematics that I've seen (for example here: https://web.archive.org/web/20170610200 ... rawing.pdf)

I see one lower ground wire, which I assume is going to the bridge. That matches what I see online.

The neck pickup, however, has three wires: yellow, green and black. The schematic does not show a ground (I assume the black is ground) coming from the neck pickup.

The bridge pickup in the schematic shows a white wire and a black wire. On my guitar, there is a white wire and two black wires, and one of the black wires is sightly thinner than the other wires used on the guitar.

The volume pot has a cap labeled 201, which I understand to be the 200pf cap for the treble bleed.

The cap on the tone control does not have any numbers on it that that I can see.

I am also confused by how the tone control is wired into the circuit. Both the hot the ground of the plug go back to the volume, which also does not match the schematic linked above (or any other wiring schematics that I see for other guitars).
Last edited by tprice504 on Wed May 10, 2023 10:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Confused by my ASAT tribute wiring -- why so many ground