2006 Made in Korea Tribute LEegacy, should I purchase?

Fri Apr 30, 2021 7:35 pm

Ok this is about $280usd asking price.

I simply cannot believe how high quality it is for the price. Its as good as my MIA strat, if not better due to the dual fulcrum trem, which is amazing for some reason and stays in tune.

So, what I know.

All american parts. Pups, Swamp Ash body, tuners, etc, all US made.

Was built in Korea though.

But wow it sounds REAL good, its like the Strat I wish the MIA was, its closer feeling to an Ibanez Satriani in playability with more classic tones.

it is unfortunately a SSS setup, I wanted an HSS, but putting a hot rail pup or similar in the back should do the trick for getting metal tones, while keeping that hendrix tone in the neck.

Im totally new to GnL. I know the new tributes are made in Indo and whilst still very good for the asking price, the MIK ones are better, closer to the Fullerton Legacy models.

Im still stunned such a fine instrument can cost so little. I think Leo made the real Strat he wanted in the Legacy/S500.

Re: 2006 Made in Korea Tribute LEegacy, should I purchase?

Fri Apr 30, 2021 7:44 pm

All american parts. Pups, Swamp Ash body, tuners, etc, all US made.

Your info about the Made In Korea is not quite correct. See this post in our G&L Knowledgebase:
What is the new Tribute series which G&L announced in 2003?.

Please post some photos [front and back] so we can see if it is stock.
For posting photos see this post and look for the link to the Tutorial: Posting photos: Welcome! Read This First.

Hope this helps.

Fri Apr 30, 2021 9:22 pm

Craig wrote:
Your info about the Made In Korea is not quite correct.

Thanks for that link, which parts do you think I was incorrect on?

Here the pics

Fri Apr 30, 2021 9:30 pm

The link doesnt say Tobacco Sunburst for the swamp ash body, but the owner is aliment it was purchased new as swamp ash.

How would I be able to test that?

The guitar is down under in NZ.