New Arrival/Tribute ASAT Special

Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:34 am

Having just traded my 2015 ASAT Special a week ago for a really fine bass cab I've been after I began to have immediate separation anxiety even knowing before I did it that was my only choice for an easy replacement.

Thanks to some dealer promos and terms I was able to purchase a new one for just a bit more than I had paid for my 2015. It's an Irish Ale finish with a Mahogany body which despite it's unique appearance is the biggest issue.

The minute I took it out of the box I knew I had "brute" in my hands. This boy is heavy and I mean Les Paul kinda heavy. It even outweighs my Les Paul by over a pound. Weighed on my trusty postage scale it tops out at 9lbs 5 ozs or right about the same weight as my ash body Tribute L2500 and nearly 2lbs heavier than my 2015 ASAT.

Luckily I've been a bassist much of my musical life as well so 9lbs + instruments doesn't intimidate me but I feel like asking G&L to check in with Cor-Tek and ask how much lead content has been measured in their Mahogany blanks. In 50 years I have never owned any Tele or Tele style guitar that weighed anywhere near this much.

Has anyone else had a similar experience with this or any other G&L Tribute model guitar?
Last edited by soulman969 on Tue Jan 28, 2020 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: New Arrival/Tribute ASAT Special

Tue Jan 28, 2020 9:33 am

My Tribute ASAT (mahogany) is actually really light - but every other G&L I’ve handled has some heft. To be honest, I don’t mind/prefer a guitar that’s more ‘solid’ feeling, to a point of course. But to this point I’ve sort of considered G&L weight a ‘signature’ thing.

Tue Jan 28, 2020 12:05 pm

Danley wrote:My Tribute ASAT (mahogany) is actually really light - but every other G&L I’ve handled has some heft. To be honest, I don’t mind/prefer a guitar that’s more ‘solid’ feeling, to a point of course. But to this point I’ve sort of considered G&L weight a ‘signature’ thing.