Cant lower the bridge enough?

Sun Apr 07, 2013 7:56 pm

I'm trying to setup my Tribute Legacy, there are two problems with it:
1. action is too high
2. frets are rough and ends are sharp

I'm a noob, so forgive me. I held off asking until now because my googling turned up the owner's manual ad some comments that the tribute should match the settings here: http://www.guitarsbyleo.com/GALLERY2/ma ... emId=10432

and here is my problem. I can't get my low E string even close to the spec.

it shows there should be 0.062" under the #1 and #6 strings. Step 8c seems to show you get this by adjusting the bridge down. At first I thought they mean the whole bridge (with the two big hex head screws) but turning that quickly stopped.

I think I'm monkeying the terminology here: by bridge does the manual mean mean saddle? As in adjust the two tiny hex head screws where the strings come through?

so currently, my low E is closer to .080 than .062, and even with the saddle (bridge #6) bottomed out it rattles like crazy

Re: Cant lower the bridge enough?

Sun Apr 07, 2013 8:20 pm

Yup, at step 8c the manual means the saddle. When you say that it rattles like crazy, are you referring to fret buzz, or does the saddle rattle?

Funnily enough, I'm in the same boat with my Tribute Comanche. With the bridge plate set at the stock height (2/16" off the body) I can't get the low E string any lower than 6/64" (measured at the 12th fret), even with the saddle decked.

The owners manual is a little old, there are a couple of things that don't work for current guitars. The recommended bridge plate height for most current guitars is 2/16" rather than 3/16". Also, in a guitar without micro-tilt there's no way to have 1/8" between the bridge plate and the bottom of the saddle and a string height of 0.062" under low E at the 12th fret without shimming the neck.

Sun Apr 07, 2013 8:58 pm

bloodied_fingers wrote:I'm trying to setup my Tribute Legacy, there are two problems with it: