View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:06 am

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Can I put this in my ASAT Tribute Special Semi-Hollow? 

Post Can I put this in my ASAT Tribute Special Semi-Hollow?
Hi,
Both volume and tone pots on my Tribute guitar are wasted and I need to replace them. I've already posted in another section of the forum regarding this and I got lots of useful suggestions for possible improvements, among which a 4 way switch. So I shopped around and stumbled on THIS on ebay. Since I'm not very technical I appreciate the ease of installation of such a kit but I'm wondering if it will fit perfectly on my Tribute or not? Will the pots and switch come thru the plate at exactly the right place?

Below is the diagram that Craig posted that got me thinking about the whole idea of a 4 way switch but I notice a few difference to the one in my above ebay link. Not being technical at all, I don't understand what are the benefits or disadvantages of one setup vs the other? Can anybody briefly please explain that to me? Am I going to be losing a lot because of the different 4 way switch used, the absence of 1 capacitor and that the one is Paper In Oil instead of silver? what's the benefit of the bigger Pot value? And finally, how important is that brass shield plate he also installs?
My head is swimming, I hope you can help :confused0007:
Thanks!

Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:29 am
Site Admin

Post Re: Can I put this in my ASAT Tribute Special Semi-Hollow?
Yes, this should work for your Tribute.
However, you will need to use the Mighty Might brand Short Split-Shaft
potentiometer for G&L Tribute guitars or suitable replacements. You can get them from G&L's On-Line store.
They are available in 1meg, 250k, and 500k values.
The reason for this is that the control cavity is routed for them and
the pots used in the US model will not fit.

Hope this helps.

:ugeek:

Current G&L Specifications and Options