Boogie Bill’s List of Greatest Inventions ...

Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:51 am

[Originally posted by Boogie Bill during his June 6th - June 10th, 2011 Lunch Reports]

Boogie Bill’s List of Greatest Inventions and Things I Can’t Live Without

When I first started this, I barely had five items, and then it just kept growing. There are some pretty cool things on the list, some you might not agree with. That’s okay. Some of the things on my list are there because I have been playing a long time, and many of these things were not available when I started playing, like phosphor bronze strings, gauged picks, electronic tuners, etc. I really do appreciate these things. And the others, like the side cutters my father gave me—well, they have a special place in my heart.

I have a lot of other items that should rate at least an “Honorable Mention”, like my fold-up On-Stage music stand, or my favorite Dunlop .0225 brass fingerpicks and my Golden Gate and National thumbpicks; or the terrific Dunlop 65 Cleaning Kits with String Cleaner, Fretboard Cleaner, Fretboard Conditioner, Spray Polish, Carnauba Wax, micro-fiber polishing cloth and fret polishing cloth. Good stuff. You may not like all of my items, and use a different tuner, different strings, different picks—and that’s fine. I think it’s important to develop your own list. And when you find a gizmo that puts a smile on your face or makes your life as a musician easier, come back and tell us about it.

1. Xcelite 10-piece screwdriver set. I bought this set 34 years ago in Coos Bay, Oregon, while on the road far from home. It wasn’t very expensive, but it has been a lifesaver on many occasions. It has three Phillips-head, and five flat-blade screwdrivers, with a torque handle and a nifty little plastic carrying case. Don’t remember what I paid for it, but I think it was about $8. Value—priceless.