Low nut issues

Sat Apr 10, 2021 2:46 am

Hi, i'm new to the website!

I've been playing new G&L's since February 2019, when I bought my first one. I own a 2016 Legacy, a 2018 Standard ASAT Classic, a 2019 Standard ASAT Classic and a 2020 Deluxe ASAT Classic Alnico. I think they are all great and I play them a lot.
The only issue I have experienced is, they all came with a generous neck relief from the factory and that's ok, I don't expect to get a perfect setup from a guitar that travels overseas from California to northern Germany. But after I set the relief to my taste (I like it almost straight, I measured 5 to 8 thousands of an inch around the 8th. fret) and and the action relatively low (around 1,25 mm. for the 1st. string at the 12th. fret and 1,5 mm. for the 6th. string on the 12th. fret) I began to experience a lot of fret buzz on open G and D strings. I don't have a strong touch. And I know that G&L recommends a higher relief and action but, isn't the nut cut too low on some G&L's? I mean, when you press the 3rd. fret and check the space between the string and the 1st. fret, sometimes there's no room at all, you cannot see it or hear it when you tap on it. Needless to say, the fret job is very good from the factory and with a nut cut so low the guitar plays like butter. But I made new nuts for 3 of my 4 G&L's because I couldn't set them to my taste without experiencing buzz on open strings.

Does anyone of you experienced this kind of problem on new G&L's? Do you think this is an issue or am I being too picky? I went to a local store this week to try a 2019 Legacy and I loved it, but ended up not buying it because of the same thing. The nut was cut too low for my taste.

I would like to know what you think. Thanks everyone.

Regards

Pablo

Re: Low nut issues

Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:03 am

I don’t have a USA G&L guitar so can’t speak from that experience.

Three things to ask -