View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:57 am

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Gap too big at 22nd fret-ASAT 

Post Gap too big at 22nd fret-ASAT
I have a relatively new USA ASAT special SH, and Ive maybe changed strings 3 times. During a recent string change I decided I would tweak the truss rod as the winter has been super dry and cold up here in Canada this year. While going through the G&L setup manual, all goes well for measurements until I reach the part where you adjust the gap between the #6 low E string and the 22nd fret. I get about .100" where the manual wants .062". The modern ASAT neck doesnt have the adjustment screw on the back, so I am unsure how to get the action down to where I prefer it....any ideas where to go? I must have made an error somewhere as the guitar used to play awesome, now it feels a lot worse..:(
I should add I am new to guitar setup and adjustments but I feel this is certainly something I should be capable of doing with a few pointers from some experts out there! Thanks for any pointers!

Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:33 pm

Post Re: Gap too big at 22nd fret-ASAT
I'm not sure I understand, and apologies if I've misinterpreted what you've tried to do so far -

You do not set the overall string height ('action') by adjusting the truss rod. The truss rod is only there to set/adjust neck 'relief' (the very small amount of forward 'bow', for which the setup guide recommends ".010"-.012" clearance for #6 string at #8 fret when #6 string is fretted simultaneously at #1 and #22 frets".

To set string height to the desired .062" just adjust the individual saddle up or down using the two grub screws in the saddle. As you've seen your guitar has no 'micro-tilt' feature as used to be there on older G&L guitars.