Just arrived - my first "Leo Era" guitar!

Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:52 am

:banana: I'm over the moon with this recent ebay purchase... a 1988 SC-3! ...Leo era G&L's are difficult to find in Australia, and I've always wanted one for the collection. This one has a few dings, but it came with the trem arm & original case! The setup is perfect & the tone is sweet & sparkly... distorts nicely too. Can't keep my hands off the thing! (my wife is getting jealous)
It now lives in Tasmania (perhaps the SC-3 furthest away from the G&L factory!)

Re: Just arrived - my first "Leo Era" guitar!

Mon Aug 30, 2010 5:45 am

Nice score, good looking guitar :happy0065:

Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:25 am

Congratulations on your find.

I've been playing a G&L guitar for more than 10 years but it was only late last year that I got my first Leo era guitar. And it also happened to be an SC-3, an early 1990 model. The neck is just perfect and it is now one of my favorite guitars to play, and it sounds sweet.

Kit

Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:56 pm

They really are sweet guitars... playability is spot-on perfect, and there's something tonally very special happening with the maple body & MFD pickups. Doe's anyone know what kind of maple they used for the bodies? Is it the same maple as on the necks, or a softer variety? ..."Sweet" is definitely the right word!

Mon Aug 30, 2010 3:45 pm

Thats a beauty. Congratulations on a great looking guitar

Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:16 pm

offplanetfilms wrote:They really are sweet guitars... playability is spot-on perfect, and there's something tonally very special happening with the maple body & MFD pickups. Doe's anyone know what kind of maple they used for the bodies? Is it the same maple as on the necks, or a softer variety? ..."Sweet" is definitely the right word!