Help Identifying Body Wood

Sat Mar 19, 2016 6:04 pm

So here is an '81 F-100 from October and December. There are two body date stamps. Any idea why this may be? What I would like to know is if any of you might be able to identify the wood used. And what any of the markings represent, such as the RR in black ink. I noticed from the registry that a number of different woods were used such as swamp ash, mahogany, maple and even poplar. I am no expert but you guys have seen many more of these than I have and I would appreciate any input/insight. Perhaps it could be looked up in Dale's log book. not sure how far back that goes. Serial #G003601

Also, was this the candy apple red of the time or just plain red? It's a sweet little guitar and I bought it to learn how to set it up, take the neck off and these kind of things and am learning a bunch. Have a look at some pics and let me know what you all think. I really love the range of sounds I can get out of this thing and discover more and more as I flip switches and turn knobs. Probably the end of GAS for a while, it's time to get some playing and tweaking done, and having fun doing it. This forum has been a great help in my process lately and you guys are the best!!

Tom

Re: Help Identifying Body Wood

Sat Mar 19, 2016 7:11 pm

Dang!
Nice find. It looks like Candy Apple over Maple (Now I'm craving maple covered candied apples :rolleyes: )
Do you see little gold flecks in finish?

Old F-100's are fun to dial in, many have strayed from specs over the years and just need some TLC to get
that buttery feeling back.
Making sure the pickups were low enough to avoid string pull was one of my eureka moments.

Congrats ,with a little healthy envy :mrgreen:

Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:09 pm

As Elwood said - Dang. That's sure a beauty.
Them early F-100's are Sweet and that one is CLEAN IMO it has the same Mojo as a Pre-CBS Strat.