sulk (radiohead cover) feat. 3 Asats, an SC-3, and a l2000

Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:59 pm

I'm hoping this is the right place to post this.

[youtube]A7NxanVdD-E[/youtube]

I picked up a Music Man 112RP 100 watt amp, last Friday, for an incredible price. Ended up mic'ing that for about 80 percent of the guitar tracks. The rest were recorded directish (I run through my pedal board, to a Two Notes Torpedo CAB, into my AI). Used all three Asats, and my Sc-3 for the guitar tracks. Used my tribute l2000 for the bass, and recorded that direct (via the same set up).
Used impulse in ableton to create a kick/snare loop, and then tapped in the hi hat.

Figured out everything by ear. I think its pretty close for the most part.

I just started playing the bass, and this is still a bit out of my league. I feel like I'm a touch behind on some of the faster, shiftier parts. I'm having a ton of fun learning though. As much as I enjoy my tribute L2000, I'm gassing to get my hands on a Leo era JB4, or possibly as SB2. Nothing beats the 3 bolt microtilt necks...

This is the first time I've tried this format, any tips?

Re: sulk (radiohead cover) feat. 3 Asats, an SC-3, and a l

Wed Feb 25, 2015 5:30 pm

Hey nice job on the cover - very cool - and congrats on the MM score…

No tips other than maybe add another guitar track for the intro /beginning… other than that sounds near spot on to me... and that albums is embedded in my DNA ;)

I think you'd do right by an SB-2… I missed a blonde one years back at a Swapmeet in Seattle for $75 with OHSC. Unreal.

Cheers,

KF

Wed Feb 25, 2015 6:09 pm

Katefan wrote:Hey nice job on the cover - very cool - and congrats on the MM score…

No tips other than maybe add another guitar track for the intro /beginning… other than that sounds near spot on to me... and that albums is embedded in my DNA ;)

I think you'd do right by an SB-2… I missed a blonde one years back at a Swapmeet in Seattle for $75 with OHSC. Unreal.

Cheers,

KF