So, what's the best guitar FOR YOU? by Boogie Bill

Sun Sep 01, 2013 1:34 pm

After a recent post reply by Boogie Bill, a couple of members suggested that his reply be saved in the G&L Knowledgebase.
For context, here is the original post: recs for first g&l.

Here is Boogie Bill's reply:

First of all, I have 18 G&Ls--eleven Legacys; two each of the Legacy Special, S-500, and Comanche models; and my ASAT Deluxe, with a DF Vibrato. I play and sing in a G/B/K/D gigging cover/originals band, and we do all kinds of music from blues, classic rock, country, jazz, and oldies--I never really know what we're going to do. I love the versatility, but it does make for some challenging situations. I also like to go local blues/rock jam sessions. I'm 62, and been playing since I was 14. I've been using Mesa amps for about the last 18 years.

Let me tell you a little about how I use my guitars.

I usually take as many as seven instruments, depending on the gig these days. Numbers Four, Five and Six and Seven: I will usually bring along my 5-string banjo, my DanElectro Innuendo 12-string; and if needed, either Ibanez Artwood or my Taylor 710CE acoustic and last—a Takamine 12-string.