Help with pickup identification on a Legacy

Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:17 am

Hi,

I have 3 G&L guitars - 2 are Tributes (an S-500 and an ASAT Special) and I've just managed to get a second hand USA made Legacy from 1995.

I say it's 1995 - this was told to me by the shop from markings under the neck pocket - I have no 1st hand knowledge of this. The headstock has no serial numbers. I'll post photos in case someone can tell me what the colour is actually called - it's a burst, but very light. I'm not sure if it's always looked like this or if the years have faded it :)

Anyway, I note that the sticky posts here say that G&L Legacy pickups built in house are flat stagger.

The ones on this guitar are all marked G&L but have a vintage stagger.... Any thoughts on what they could be or do I need to have the scratch plate off to examine more closely?

It's a lovely guitar but then again so are my Tributes :)

Thanks

Gary

Re: Help with pickup identification on a Legacy

Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:15 pm

Gary_W wrote:Hi,

I have 3 G&L guitars - 2 are Tributes (an S-500 and an ASAT Special) and I've just managed to get a second hand USA made Legacy from 1995.

I say it's 1995 - this was told to me by the shop from markings under the neck pocket - I have no 1st hand knowledge of this. The headstock has no serial numbers. I'll post photos in case someone can tell me what the colour is actually called - it's a burst, but very light. I'm not sure if it's always looked like this or if the years have faded it :)

Anyway, I note that the sticky posts here say that G&L Legacy pickups built in house are flat stagger.

The ones on this guitar are all marked G&L but have a vintage stagger.... Any thoughts on what they could be or do I need to have the scratch plate off to examine more closely?

It's a lovely guitar but then again so are my Tributes :)

Thanks

Gary

Without seeing them, I would guess that a previous owner replaced the stock pickups with some kind of vintage staggered pickups