View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:08 am

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Locking tuners question 

Post Locking tuners question
Hello all. I'm new to the G&L world, picked up a 2014 USA Legacy two months ago. I'd like to change the standard vintage-type G&L/Schaller tuners with locking tuners. From what I understand, the one-pin Schallers that I saw on Stew Mac or the
G&L-logoed tuners on their website should be a direct replacement, but are they staggered? Stew Mac mentions staggered, but G&L makes no mention of that. I'd prefer the staggered and would rather buy them cheaper direct through G&L if possible. Thanks.
-Joe

http://g-l-online-store.myshopify.com/c ... -hand-only

Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:50 pm
Site Admin

Post Re: Locking tuners question
Toejam wrote:
Hello all. I'm new to the G&L world, picked up a 2014 USA Legacy two months ago. I'd like to change the standard vintage-type G&L/Schaller tuners with locking tuners. From what I understand, the one-pin Schallers that I saw on Stew Mac or the
G&L-logoed tuners on their website should be a direct replacement, but are they staggered? Stew Mac mentions staggered, but G&L makes no mention of that. I'd prefer the staggered and would rather buy them cheaper direct through G&L if possible. Thanks.
-Joe

http://g-l-online-store.myshopify.com/c ... -hand-only

The current G&L tuners and previous Schaller tuners used by G&L are not staggered. Only the Sperzel tuners used by G&L are staggered.
To use Sperzel tuners, in place of the current tuners, you would need to drill new pin holes for each tuner. See: What tuners are used on G&L guitars (USA models)?.

Hope this helps.

:ugeek:

Current G&L Specifications and Options

Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:34 pm
Profile WWW