recomend me some songs in alternate tuning open E

Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:44 pm

I'm just starting to learn some slide technique in open E ..... do you guy's know of some good songs to learn with the same open E tuning ??

thanks , Eric

Re: recomend me some songs in alternate tuning open E

Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:02 am

i am no help on this, i don't know how to play one single song.

Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:53 am

check tedeschi trucks band, Derek Trucks plays in open E 90% of the time !

Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:16 pm

Black Crowes - She Talks to Angels.
This one isn't slide...

Joe Walsh - Rocky Mountain Way - Pretty sure it's Open E
Then again, neither is this one... Get a talk-box...lol

[Edited because I can't read]
Last edited by jediguitarist on Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:05 pm

It's not slide, but Dave Mason plays "We Just Disagree" in open E:

[youtube]TCpQLZs2Eh8[/youtube]

This is pretty far off the beaten path, but a Scottish musician named Rob St. John uses open E on his song "Your Phantom Limb":

[youtube]_heXeeAUQfE[/youtube]

Both of these videos have enough close-ups of the guitars to pick out a lot of the fingerings. There's another video of "Phantom Limb" on You Tube from a show in Cologne. The sound quality on that video is pretty bad, but the guitar fingerings are very clear.

I hope this helps.

Ken

Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:13 pm

Okay, I finally found one from my collection.. err. Songs that I learned at one point in my life...

Triumph - When the Lights Go Down
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-AwlBkYBKY

The intro is slide in open E

Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:56 pm

thanks guy's !! ..... I was thinking Allman brothers had one too but can't figure it out

Louis , I'm having a hard time believing you don't know any songs :crazy:

Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:21 pm

Fumble fingers wrote:thanks guy's !! ..... I was thinking Allman brothers had one too but can't figure it out