Redux: New Hamer in the house ....

Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:43 am

I've had several Gibson guitars over the past few years, all of them exquisite examples of that specific model of Gibson. While I liked them well enough, I never truly bonded with them. I purchased a Collings 360 with mini-humbuckers a short while back. It is one of the finest examples of an electric guitar bar none. But, I just couldn't get the knack of playing it. I've narrowed it down to my inability to cope with separate volume controls for the different pickups. I like the simplicity of the Strat / Tele layout. I've been playing the strat layout since 1973 and I guess I'm too old to change now.

Anyway, I took my Collings to Fat Sound to do a little horse trading. I had narrowed by tonal selection down to a P-90 equipped guitar and really narrowed that down between a Grosh Electrajet and a Hamer Newport 90. While it was difficult to truly claim that one was superior over the other, the Hamer eventually won me over because it is extremely lightweight and the tone was more of a vintage sound than the Electrajet.

RickT

Re: Redux: New Hamer in the house ....

Mon Mar 01, 2010 9:37 am

I was always interested in P90's, but I have never owned a guitar with them, and thus not much experience with them.

Looks like a great guitar! Hope the P90's work out for you.

Gary G

Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:48 pm

Rick,

How big is the guitar, 335 or 339 size body?

Thanks

Jamie

Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:12 pm

Nice Hamer, congrats ! Is it fully hollow or does it have a centre block ?

Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:11 pm

Nice pickup on the Hamer Rick! I'll bet is sounds as good as it looks!

Lates,

Connor

Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:24 pm

SouthpawGuy wrote:Nice Hamer, congrats ! Is it fully hollow or does it have a centre block ?