Guitar Neck Hangers, looking for reccomendations...

Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:08 am

I am putting my guitars on the wall of my new office. They are old plaster lathe walls, so I am looking for some input on the best neck hangers to use as well as anchor systems.

Anyone have experience to share?

Thank you in advance!

Re: Guitar Neck Hangers, looking for reccomendations...

Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:20 am

i like the off the wall hangers the best, and put the in the studs. if you want to put them between the studs, do 2 rows, and put the row with the in-between hangers on a 2x4 you mount on the wall across to the studs and mount the hangers on the 2x4. i prefer staggering the guitars when in 2 rows, instead of all an the same plane, much more protection from the upper row's bodies bumping into the lower row's necks, at least here with earthquakes and all.

Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:41 pm

I have been using the "String Swing" brand of hangers for about 8 years. They are very sturdy, and haven't caused any damage to the neck finish on any of my guitars.

Installation: Using a "stud finder," I mount each hanger to a stud. In most cases, studs are 16" on center from each other allowing enough room for most guitars. I usually stagger the installation so that the second hanger is 12" lower, the third hanger is at the same level as the first, and so on.

I'm not sure if 16" spacing will work out for your lathe & plaster walls, but it would be easy to check. String Swing also manufactures rail systems that might work out better for you.

Check out their site: https://www.stringswing.com/index.php

Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:43 pm

Lefty wrote:I have been using the "String Swing" brand of hangers for about 8 years. They are very sturdy, and haven't caused any damage to the neck finish on any of my guitars.