Amp settings

Tue May 10, 2011 10:40 am

I'm a beginner (or early intermediate). One of the things I have found frustrating is information for how to get your anp configured to give you some classic tones to play with. I know we all have a different set up and different amps, but most will be united in that they have a treble, middle, bass, reverb, gain, volume and master (and possible effects if you have them). Its not impossible to provide tips for certain tones

I have found the Vox toneroom useful (on the vox website) - but when i watch things like tutorial videos - few, if any, show you how to set up the amp to get that distinctive Cream sound, or whomever it is for you. Obviously this is not going to make you sound like the greats per-se, but i think there is a lot to learn about amps that for us newbies we rarely explore.

For example, the relationship between 'Master' and 'Volume' on most amps can help you with some sounds etc, but it took me a long time to realise this. Do you have any basic amp tips - combinations - settings?

Re: Amp settings

Wed May 11, 2011 5:20 pm

That's a tough question Doctor. It's one of those situations where you just have to play around with what you've got. I personally don't have any default settings for anything. I set everything to half way and adjust to taste. Like you mention there are a lot of variables - not least temperature. We rehearsed in our drummers garage the other night when it was about 0C and my amp sounded noticeably different than in the rehearsal room.

For a good clean sound on an amp with bass-mid-treb, I roll the bass on the amp back to the point where it stops being 'woofy' and go a fraction further. For treble I do a similar thing, turning it up until it gets to the point where it just starts to stab you in the ear and bring it back a bit. The mids are more complicated but around half way is a good stop to start. Depending on the amp you might need to crank them or wind them back. YMMV.