American Special Jazzmaster

Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:56 pm

Incoming - Excused myself for buying it by saying it's been a year and a half since my last guitar (the SC3,) and it's also an excuse for me to put some of my cheap beater guitars (no G&Ls will be sold!) up for sale locally to make space in my music room generally.

It was never a 'this or a G&L' scenario - Only a good deal, when I always wanted a US Jazzmaster. Was going to wait for a deal on an American Professional, but this came along with an ATA case included as well as most of the original parts to make it stock - I told the seller to keep the Lace pickup (as much as I've always wanted to try a Red again,) and I have my own Jazzmaster pickups lined up to go in:

Will post more as I get it and work on it. I still want a Doheny btw ;)

Re: American Special Jazzmaster

Tue Jun 11, 2019 9:08 pm

This is exactly the reaction I expected - no worries, not even people who actually like Jazzmasters like this guitar (so it's sort of treasonous for me to like it, as I'm one of the biggest 'stick with the stock bridge & stock vibrato' Jaguar/Jazzmaster advocates :D )

Anyway, it got here. Here's half the value (prob.) of what I paid - ATA case that protected it well from the delivery squad:

Hello Ugly; yeah, I'm talking to you (broken/rough plexiglass, dirt)

The most important thing about wiring is making it as temporary as possible. Before putting my slated pickup set in (ok, I'm still trying to decide what to put in it) I kept the stock neck pickup - which it turns out was broken (no hum-canceling, half-DCR.) The seller seems un-motivated to make it right, but full disclosure I also never planned to use this pickup- and I got a total steal of a price regardless- so contemplating my next action with him. I installed a Squier bridge pickup 'just to get it running.'

I honestly have no clue *what* makes for good tort like a lot of people, but I do like it brown, and this is brown:

"Have a seat in that chair, sir."