Unfinished Stained Body?

Wed May 09, 2018 10:03 pm

So my father's '81 F100 was originally black, but someone (not in the recent past) took it down to the wood and stained it.

Is a bare/stained finish 'safe,' or ideally is a top-coat necessary to protect the wood from delamination/warping? Is Tru Oil best for that purpose or is there another suggested product/method?

Re: Unfinished Stained Body?

Fri May 11, 2018 8:00 am

Danley wrote:So my father's '81 F100 was originally black, but someone (not in the recent past) took it down to the wood and stained it.

Is a bare/stained finish 'safe,' or ideally is a top-coat necessary to protect the wood from delamination/warping? Is Tru Oil best for that purpose or is there another suggested product/method?

I can't answer directly as I have no experience with Tru-Oil, but there are some past posts of some members here that used it.
I suggest you Search using "Tru Oil" as the key words and check those posts.

How about posting some photos this F-100, too?

Hope this helps.

Fri May 11, 2018 8:03 am

Sure. I'm less interested in Tru Oil in particular, and more interested whether anyone thinks it's a bad idea to leave a guitar finished with only the stain, or if that can create moisture/humidity related issues.

Fri May 11, 2018 11:06 am

Danley wrote:Sure. I'm less interested in Tru Oil in particular, and more interested whether anyone thinks it's a bad idea to leave a guitar finished with only the stain, or if that can create moisture/humidity related issues.

Stain doesn't seal/protect the wood, all a stain does is colors it. Moisture can still penetrate the wood, which to a greater or lesser degree can/will affect the color, and in the case of swelling and shrinking, it can even do some damage (say to a finished neck, that is being pinched by a swollen body, etc.).