Wanting to try 10-52. Advice and opinions appreciated!

Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:18 pm

Hi all,
I only started learning to play the guitar by myself this June. I started off with 9-42 so my fingertips wouldn't hate me (they did anyway). I just upgraded to 10-46 and I like them alright so far, although I want more tightness on the bass strings. 10-52 sounds like a good choice. However, I do have to re-setup the guitar (I have a Tribute Special). I was looking at the nut slots and my low E is already pretty snug. There is no way I can fit a fatter string in there.
Is there anything I should know before I bring it in for a re-setup?
Thank you all and cheers!
Cid

Re: Wanting to try 10-52. Advice and opinions appreciated!

Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:22 pm

Hi Cid,

Part of your setup should include resizing the nut for the larger strings. Make sure that your luthier knows it needs to be done.

edg

Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:25 pm

Hey Cid,

When the string gauge is "substantially" bigger than what the guitar is set up for, the string slots in the nut need to be recut to avoid binding. This is no problem as long as you stick to that gauge. But in the case you'd want to go bak to 9's, you'd need a new nut with properly cut slots.

Another aspect is the relieve in the neck which needs some adjusting when changing string gauges. And sure, the strings will feel different to your fingers so how they like it is TBD.

Have fun with the guitar and happy learnings!

- Jos

Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:48 pm