New member seeking MusicMan Sabre I info

Sun May 02, 2010 1:27 am

Hi Craig, I am new to this site and it may not contain what i am looking for. I have a guitar bby Leo, but not a G&L!! I am a pro musician living in rural devon in the uk and was down at my local dump dropping of some trash, and there was an old Music Man sabre 1!!! I bought it and am loving ot back to the stage, but want to know where i can find out some defifnitive history about these pre G & L guitars by Leo. I know that the ernie ball music man guitars are totally different (not a great fan of those) and they dont really have any info on them. I thought that there might be some info from you guys.
many thanks
fsharpminor
Last edited by Craig on Tue May 04, 2010 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: moved from another forum and re-titled

Re: New member seeking MusicMan Sabre I info

Sun May 02, 2010 1:05 pm

There is actually a fair amount of pre-Ernie Ball MusicMan knowledge at the EBMM site. Many of the Knuckleheads are owners of the Leo-era guitars & basses, so don't be afraid to ask. Just avoid ANY discussion of repairs or ANYTHING that could even remotely be construed as negative, not matter how far a reach it might be. And for God's sake, don't PM Big Poppa. :mrgreen:

Our own GGJaguar is also a wealth of knowledge of things Leo.

Ken...
Last edited by Craig on Tue May 04, 2010 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: moved with original post and re-titled

Thu May 06, 2010 11:27 am

The following is a reply I got from BoogieBill regarding Leo-era Musicman. Great info !

Bills message :
Two guitars, the StringRay was the first. I bought my first Sabre II late '78-early '79, I think. These are a much better guitar than the Sting Ray. Here's what I can tell you about the Sabre.