Amp help!

Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:25 pm

I'm going to apologize up front for this thread. My ignorance of everything is going to be visible from outer space. When I first started learning to play I was strictly acoustic. I borrowed one of my dad's guitars, a Goya classical guitar (1968?). In 1996, when I graduated from high school, he bought me my own guitar and, because I couldn't decide if I wanted an electric or an acoustic, I ended up with an Ibanez AE20, along with a Peavey Backstage Plus. I knew nothing about amps in '96 and I know only a teeny bit more about them today.

I really like the sound of the Fender '68 Deluxe Reverb but I don't really want to drop another grand on an amp right now (on top of the money I just spent ordering my Fallout). Is there another small amp that has the... presence... of the Fender, without the price tag? Is there any chance at all that I can get the Peavey into a condition that it will give me a comparable sound? I'm not afraid of wiring, soldering, etc. If so, where would I start? (I'm fully prepared for the answer to be "trade it in" but if I don't have to do that I absolutely don't want to.)

Yamwich

Re: Amp help!

Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:00 pm

Carvin Belair or Nomad can hang with that amp and cost about 1/2 the price , I just bought the head version VT50 to replace my Super Reverb and Twin Reverb , the best money I ever spent for a clean sounding amp and I'm not on a tight budget, My Legacy has never sounded better than it does with the Carvin amp , channel two is a mild crunch like Alan Holdsworth type of sound ...... I got a Blem/floor model direct from Carvin off of ebay for 319.00 , I got over a 1000.00 easy in each of my Fenders and they don't near sound as good

http://www.carvinguitars.com/guitaramps ... series.php

Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:58 am