Bloodied Fingers was right......again.....dammit

Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:00 am

During Map70's post on replacing pots in his Legacy Tribute, the discussion morphed into capacitors somehow. Bloodied Fingers chimed in with the fact that capacitor type didn't matter in the guitar or stomp pedal, which was debated.

I looked at his logic and felt stupid. Everything the cap does in a guitar and pedal goes right out the ground wire to tone heaven somewhere. I thought "why in the hell did I spend this money on my pedals Mr. Robert Keeley"?! :BadIdea:

It was posted paper in oil caps are more expensive at about $4 each, but well worth the extra money in tone. I stated that ceramic caps sound terriible. In retrospect, I believe the tiime I noticed that huge difference was in the amp and not the guitar. So, I'm an idiot.

Being an idiot, I decided to experiment with one of my pedals to see if different type caps sounded different at all. Being a brilliant scientist, I didn't choose just any pedal, no sir. I got my vintage OD-1 out. So, I looked into my magical grab bag of capacitors to see what I had that would match values. Sure enough, I had .047's in oil and ceramic to try out in the first stage. It has a mylar or poly or whatever the hell it is in it already.

My man Mike at the ready with guitar in hand, we tried the OD-1 pedal stock, then tried the other two caps playing the exact same riffs and same settings each time. I did this several times mixing up the caps so he couldn't cheat. I asked if he heard anything different. He said no and I agreed as I heard no difference at all. So, I tricked him and put in an .022. Yep, difference for sure.

Now I wanna take all my pedals apart, especially the boutique ones to find out what's in there. My Keeley BD-2 does sound different from stock for sure with the Phat switch. Robert told me why when I bought it from him at the Dallas show but I don't remember the details.